SLRP Eligibilty Requirements

Eligible SLRP Grant Applicants: 50 States and Territories

Entities eligible to apply for the State Loan Repayment Program (SLRP) cost-sharing grant program include the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, Palau, the Marshall Islands and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.

To be eligible for SLRP an entity must also:

  • Obtain matching funds from your state and or territory to fund the program. The state/territory must agree to make available (directly or through donations from public or private entities) non-Federal contributions in cash toward SLRP award contracts in an amount not less than $1 for each $1 of Federal funds provided in the grant.
  • Ensure the SLRP will be administered by a state agency. States must demonstrate that the program operated with the grant funds will be administered directly by a state agency.
  • Agree to use federal funds received through the SLRP to make loan repayment awards only.

Eligible Sites

States receiving SLRP grants must assign health professionals participating in their state loan repayment program to public and nonprofit private sites located in federally-designated Health Professional Shortage Areas (HPSAs) and all providers must work in a HPSA that corresponds with their training (for example, a dentist must work in a dental HPSA, or a mental health provider must work in a mental health HPSA).

States have flexibility in which sites they deem eligible to be service sites in their state. Eligible service sites may include:

  • Federally-Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs)
  • FQHC Look-Alikes
  • Rural Health Clinics
  • Critical Access Hospitals
  • State and County Mental Health Hospitals
  • Long-Term Care Facilities
  • Community Outpatient Facility
  • Community Mental Health Facility
  • State and County Health Department Clinic
  • Free Clinic
  • Mobile Units
  • School-based Health Clinic
  • Indian Health Service Clinic
  • Tribal Health Clinic
  • Urban Indian Health Clinic
  • Some Indian and Tribal Hospitals
  • Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) Health Clinic
  • State or Federal Correctional Facilities
  • Solo or Group Private Practices

Eligible Disciplines

SLRP grantees have flexibility in the eligible disciplines offered through their program so long as the disciplines meet the mission of providing primary health services in HPSAs. SLRP grantees are not required to include all eligible disciplines in their program.

Eligible disciplines vary by state, but may include:

  • Physicians (MDs or DOs specializing in pediatrics, geriatrics, psychiatry, family or internal medicine, and obstetrics and gynecology)
  • Nurse practitioners (specializing in adult, family, geriatric, pediatric, psychiatry/mental health, women’s health, and certified nurse midwives)
  • Physician assistants (primary care, specializing in adult, family, geriatric, pediatric, psychiatry/mental health, women’s health)
  • Dental professionals (general, pediatric and geriatric dentists, and registered dental hygienists)
  • Mental health professionals (health service psychologists, licensed clinical social workers, marriage and family therapists, and licensed professional counselors)
  • Registered Nurses
  • Pharmacists

Service Commitment

While there are some standard requirements for participants in a SLRP, state grantees also have flexibility in how they run their program.

  • All SLRP program participants must provide a minimum of two years of full-time service or four years of half-time service in a HPSA.
  • States may require longer initial minimum service commitments (more than two years) to meet community needs.
  • States may also provide additional loan repayment for each additional year of service provided beyond the initial contract.