Sites: Types

Apply Now

NHSC-approved sites are outpatient facilities providing primary care medical, dental, and/or mental and behavioral health services. These facilities may be:

Federally-Qualified Health Centers (automatically approved)

  • Community Health Center
  • Migrant Health
  • Homeless Program
  • Public Housing Program
  • School-Based Program
  • Mobile Clinic

FQHC Look-Alikes (automatically approved)

American Indian Health Facilities (automatically approved)

  • Federal Indian Health Service facilities
  • Tribal/638 Health Facility
  • Dual-Funded (Tribal Health Clinic and FQHC 330 Funded)
  • Urban Indian Health Program

Correctional or Detention Facilities

  • Federal Prison (automatically approved)
  • State Prison
  • Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) Health Service Corps

Certified Rural Health Clinics Rural Health Clinic Quick Guide (PDF - 161 KB)

  • Provider-Based
  • Independent

Critical Access Hospitals

Community Mental Health Centers

State or Local Health Departments

Community Outpatient Facilities (hospital- and non-hospital affiliated)

Private Practices (solo or group)

  • Solo Practice
  • Group Practice

School-Based Clinics

Mobile Units

Free Clinics

The following site types are not eligible to apply:

  • Inpatient Hospitals (including Veteran’s Administration Hospitals, with the exception of Medicare-approved Critical Access Hospitals);
  • Other Inpatient Facilities;
  • Residential Facilities;
  • County/Local prisons.